Eric Riley, Librarian Of Mars

Space Marine Librarian

Space Marine Librarian from Games Workshop. I intend to look like this as I conquer the universe.

I will admit right now that I have an obsession with space.  I have had it for years.  I mean, come on, every little kid dreams of being an astronaut at least once.  Fueled by movies like Close Encounters, ET and Explorers, I was ready to fly off to space and see some aliens.  Maybe not the Aliens aliens, but something cool.  In my college years I read Parable of the Sower and listened to The Martian ChroniclesStar Trek, Farscape

This is a huge part of my mental landscape.

So, why am I thinking about Starship Libraries?

Duh, So I can be a Starship Librarian!

I mean, surely there are going to be information control needs relevant to interplanetary travel.  Especially long term journeys like going to Mars.  Going to Mars is going to be a trip of years at a stretch, and that’s going to require all sorts of skills.  I think I may be able to help provide something useful to a mission.

Plus, I’ve been thinking about how I could get myself in shape, and having a big goal is a great way to do that.  I know, that’s shallow and kind of insane.  But seriously.  People can just apply to become an astronaut on USA Jobs like any government job.  I never imagined it could be so close.  Having useful skills, being intelligent, and having the physical conditioning are surely all part of the package.

So, that’s my dream.  Being a librarian in space.

Let’s see if I can make that happen.

One comment on “Eric Riley, Librarian Of Mars

  1. zealofzebra says:

    Now that I think about it, there’s only one piece of science fiction I have read in recent memory that had a librarian in it – In Speaker for the Dead, Pipo’s wife is referred to as the colony’s librarian in her function as an archivist.

    But in everything else, semantic searching combined with voice interfacing have been shown as the tools used by space travelers to find information and recreation in databases and collections. In Orson Scott Card’s saga, I get the feeling that since so much is “done by computer” – including analyzing text – that science fiction authors haven’t thought to include librarians – not archivists – in their worlds.

    This is sad.

    We should fix this.

    How about a flood of short stories/novellas/etc. that have librarians in space working alongside (or to improve) the same technology that has been so canonized in the genre? I mean, seriously. Librarians have already fallen in love in romance novels, beaten up bad guys in both film and print, and solved mysteries. Why not boldly go where no librarian has gone before?

    (And now I have to share this snippet, because I can’t comment on this post without thinking of Spock telling Kirk that being a librarian is just as challenging as being a starship captain. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Cv2INuu9eo )

Leave a Reply

